5 Step Wardrobe Plan

All that and a bag of chips

You can be all that and a bag of chips!

Recently, I was invited to give an Advanced Empowerment seminar to a group of real estate professionals. In the swankiest of Park Avenue offices I sat at the head of a boardroom table, wearing my Wonder Woman PONO cuffs, and shared what I know of how your wardrobe can affect your business. Winning!!!

The foundation for the talk was essentially what I stand for: showing up for your clients the best way you can. I find that very often, clothes are pushed to the back of the mind. What’s in the closet is an afterthought, yet everyone wants to look good. Science nerd alert: clothes can bring up things you’d rather leave buried: body image issues, fear about money, fear about taking chances, fear of criticism. Shopping is reduced to what will work for your job and what won’t. People tend to randomly shop or shop from occasion to occasion. Getting dressed in the morning is a struggle.

Many people want to improve their lives and embark on fantastic journeys to do so—coaching, yoga retreats, vision boards, goal setting, group mentorship, private trainers. This is awesome but in all of this there is one commonality: have a plan and stick to it. You can’t change your body with one trip to the gym, you must have a plan. Building a business requires a plan. Selling a house requires a plan. Even cooking a meal requires a plan. It all takes time and requires a commitment. Great news! This same planning can be applied to your closet! Woooohooooo!   But most people don’t look at it that way. (wah wahhhhhh)

When you are meeting a client for the first time your wardrobe is the first word you say before you ever open your mouth. It takes the average person 7 seconds to form a concrete opinion of you. Your client deserves to have the best version of you from the very first moment. Make those 7 seconds count!!

It’s hard! I know! So, if you are starting at ground zero with your closet I’ve listed 5 simple steps that I use with my clients to help. This is just basic goal setting but it can be very powerful.

1) Decide how you want to look.

  •      Come up with a list of words, phrases, characters, that you want to influence your look. When you are out shopping, bypass anything that does not make you feel this way.

2) Decide what that means to you in your closet.

  • Example: I want 3 weeks worth of outfits for work, only pants and skirt outfits.

3) Come up with a budget.

  • This is a tough one. Just pick a number that you are comfortable with. Remember you are building a wardrobe so it will feel high to begin with.

4) Do the work and have a cutoff date.

  • How long are you willing to wait to have those 3 weeks worth of outfits? A month? 2 months? What will you have to do?

5) Write your mission statement and keep it with you. Look at it and say it to yourself  several times a day.  

  • Example: By the time I open my closet on November 15, 2014, I will have 3 weeks worth of office appropriate outfits that make me feel like a combination of Jennifer Aniston, Jackie O and Jessica Rabbit. To do this I will shop for 2 hours in stores or online every day. I will have spent $2000.

It is not my intention to strip the joy out of shopping for you. In fact, quite the opposite. When you can shop with focus and have a plan, it’s that much better!

 If you need some help with your wardrobe plan,I am here for you. Click here to schedule a free call!

 Much Love and Fabulousness,

Carmen Adriana

6Ruxshr-Q2Mk35jM3UCV8ssh30PpUQ7tzexHkgFlBs0,6D50-cJtvWx7G3jqB5UnZdV70bq9CO2dfO9XBLdcp_E

I’m Carmen Adriana. I help FIERCE individuals rule their world in style! Find out more at http://www.FabInjection.com or click here to book a free wardrobe strategy appointment with me now!

Leave a Reply

